Home » Chronic Illness » A day in the life…with my “super cane”!

A day in the life…with my “super cane”!

So, I was discharged from the rehab yesterday. I had another hip replacement. I have had three in all.  I had in infection in the right hip that was initially replaced in 2003 due to avasulcar necrossis. An infection was found in the right hip in November 2010 so the doctor removed it on December 16, 2010. For three months I did not have a hip on the right side. Basically I was a one legged women.  Thankfully on March 17 the infection was gone and I was able to have the right hip replaced…the third time the right hip was cut into. OUCH!!

I didn’t have too much hope of walking out of that place (the rehab center). So when the physical therapist asked me what were my goals while I was in rehab I said to walk without my walker half believing it was possible.  To my surprise I left the rehab on a quad cane which is a lot more freeing then a walker. I even got to pick out a nice and shiny blue cane though I have to use a loaner until it is delivered. I told Cornell (my husband) that once I got that cane I would be burning the streets up.   I acquainted it to being a super hero with someone elses cape. Just wait until I get my own cape…or cane.  You better watch out!! LOL

My first out-patient physical therapy is on Monday. I am looking forward to improvement where I will be able to retire my “super cane” like I have done in the past and walk unassisted with my brand spankin’ new titanium hip!  See you at the finish line.

7 thoughts on “A day in the life…with my “super cane”!

  1. Wear out the streets with your cane girl! It would be cool if you had one of those African canes popular in the 90s. You’d really be fly!! Lol.
    (As I’ve always expressed…you and Cornell and the boys are amazing.) Smooches!

  2. I never doubted you for one second. You have always been such a trooper with a great outlook. You’re an inspiration! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

